Not a Day Like Any Other

Disclaimer: You all know who owns all the characters except Erica. This is a story I’ve had in my mind for a long time and finally it is on paper. I hope you like it. Feel free to send me comments if you want.

Not a Day Like Any Other

by

Karin
(karinsono@hotmail.com)

Part One – Guess who?

The baby was crying and wouldn’t stop. A woman came in and gently picked up the little girl. “What’s the matter angel?” The girl stopped crying and looked at her mother and smiled. “That’s right. Mama is here and I am not going anywhere.”

The little girl smiled again like she was showing her mother that she understood. The woman seated herself in a rocking chair and began to sing.Hush little baby don’t say a word 
Mama’s gonna buy you a mockingbird
And if that mockingbird doesn’t sing
Mama’s gonna buy you a diamond ring………….

Three weeks later Maxwell Sheffield was going over some papers. He could not believe it. Just as soon as he and Fran had gotten married his and CCs business started to go all wrong. It wasn’t if Maxwell spent all his time with Fran. No, he and CC did everything they could to save the business. But they failed. About three months after the wedding it was all over. CC immediately got an offer to work for a theater company in Boston. So did Maxwell but he didn’t want to leave New York. He eventually would find something else he had said and if he didn’t, he still had plenty of money to support his family. That family included Niles of course.

Maxwell missed CC and so did his family. He was surprised at this, that his kids missed her and Niles missed her most of all. You could tell. He was not the same after she went away to Boston. For a while they were all worried about him but then he bounced back. But he was not the same, now he acted as if CC never had existed in the first place. Maxwell hoped that would changed. Especially since CC might be returning. He had finally managed to get back in to the business and he sent CCs father a letter since he didn’t know were she was. He hoped that she would get his letter. Things wouldn’t be the same without her. Suddenly, waking him from his thoughts, the phone rang.

“Maxwell Sheffield.”

“Hello.”

He would recognize that voice anywhere. “CC.”

“Hi Maxwell.”

“It’s good to hear your voice. How are you?”

“It’s good to hear your voice too and I am just fine. How about you and how is everyone?”

“Couldn’t be better and everyone is fine.”

“Glad to hear it. You bounced back I heard.”

“Yes I did. Did you get my letter?”

“I got it.”

“What do you think of my proposal?” Maxwell suddenly noticed that Niles entered the room. He watched his old friend carefully as he said the next sentence. “Do you want to come back CC?” He could see that Niles had just frozen at the mention of her name.

“Well, I am not sure to be honest.” As she said the sentence it reached Niles’ ears as Maxwell continued to watch him and saw that he slowly turned around and started staring at the phone.

“I do want you to come back.” Maxwell said never taking his eyes off Niles.

“I really would love to come back but my life has changed since we last saw each other so I will have to get back to you. How about if I call you first thing Monday?”

“That sounds like a plan. Talk to you then. Goodbye CC.”

“Goodbye Maxwell.”

Maxwell looked at Niles.

“Miss….Miss Babcock? She…is coming back?”

“Hopefully, yes. Wouldn’t that be great?”

“Great……yes.” With that Niles left the room.

Part Two – Coming Back

It was Monday morning and Niles was nervously making breakfast.

“So this is the effect she has on you?” Fran said as she entered.

“Huh?” Niles looked up.

“Don’t act like you don’t know what I am talking about. Ever since Miss Babcock called you have been walking around like the floor was made of eggshells.”

“She surprised me.”

“I’ll say.” Fran seated herself on a chair. “How do you feel about it?”

“I don’t know.” Niles seated himself next to her.

“You’re not happy?”

“Happy?”

“Yes, at the fact that the woman you have been in love with forever might be coming back.”

“Who said anything about being in love?”

“Oh, please. Give me SOME credit.”

Niles sighed. “Well, yes I do love her. I should have told her but I didn’t and then it was to late. I convinced myself I would never see her again and then……….”

“Then she called.” Fran continued.

“Then she called and I realized I might see her again and that made me confused.”

“I understand honey.” Fran put her arm comforting around her. “But now you have a second chance.”

“Maybe.”

“You mean maybe if she comes?”

“No maybe even if she comes. On the phone she said that her life had changed. What if she is married?”

“Then,” Fran sighed. “there is nothing you can do.”

Niles started thinking about how he felt after Miss Babcock’s phone call last week. He had run up to his room and almost started to cry. To think that he might see her again made his heart fill with joy. The he remembered her talking about changes in her life and suspected the worst. She was married…..to someone else. He hoped she wasn’t.

Fran watched him and wondered what he was thinking. No doubt his thoughts were on Miss Babcock. Poor thing. So nervous.

“Guess what?” Maxwell’s voice shook them both back to reality. “CC just called. She is coming back.”

Fran smiled at him and then turned to Niles.

“When….hrm….is she coming?” Niles softly asked.

“Wednesday.” Maxwell answered.

*Soon.* Niles thought. *Soon.*

Part Three – Introducing Erica

It was Wednesday morning but for Niles the last two day had gone by too slow. Everyone knew he was nervous about seeing CC again. At the last minute Maxwell asked him to deliver some important papers for him. Neither of them knew that CC was on her way and she wasn’t alone.

Hearing the doorbell Fran yelled. “I’ll get it.”

She went to the door and opened it. Outside was CC and on her arm was a little girl.

“Hello Nanny Fine.” CC smiled.

“Miss Babcock, hello.” Fran gave CC a little hug and gestured for her to come in. After closing the door she turned to look at the little girl.

“I see you are looking at my daughter.”

“Yours? Now that’s a surprise.” Fran smiled.

“I know.” CC smiled back. “Her name is Erica.”

Walking towards them Fran said. “She is adorable. May I hold her?”

“Sure.” CC handed the little girl over to Fran.

“You don’t wanna leave mommy?” Fran said to the baby. “It’s ok, I am not that bad.”

“CC!” Maxwell called as he came in to the living room. “So good to see you.” Maxwell and CC hugged.

“Good to see you too. Both of you.” CC said as she looked at Maxwell and then at Fran.That’s when Maxwell noticed that his wife was holding a baby.

“Isn’t she adorable, honey?” Fran had noticed Maxwell’s surprised look. “This is Erica. Miss Babcock’s daughter.”

Maxwell looked at CC.

“I know, I know. It took me by surprise too.” CC answered his silent question.

Maxwell looked back at Fran and the baby. She was a beautiful girl. She looked like a little CC. Fran was beaming as she stood there holding the little one. His wife seemed to get more beautiful every day.

“Why don’t I take care of little Erica so you two can talk business?” Fran asked.

“Sounds good. CC?”

“Why not? It won’t be long.”

Maxwell and CC went to the office and Fran took Erica to the kitchen.

“Great, just what I needed.” Niles was frustrated. He was running late. It seemed like all of New York was out this morning and there fore it took longer then usual. He had this feeling that this day would not be like any other day. Opening the kitchen door he noticed Fran sitting by the table playing with a blond little girl.

“Niles, you’re back.”

“Yes.” He kept looking at the girl. She reminded him of someone.

“She is cute eh?”

“Very. A friend of yours?”

“Sort of.” Fran smiled as she got up and walked over to him with the little one in her arms. “Niles, say hello to Erica. Miss Babcock’s daughter.”

Niles eyes widened and starred at Fran. Then to Erica and back to Fran. “Miss Babcock’s?”

“Yes. Wanna hold her?”

He looked at the girl again. She was beautiful. Just like her mother. Mother. Miss Babcock a mother. He never thought he’d see the day. “Why not.”

Fran gently put Erica in Niles’ arms. Just like with Fran, Erica seemed to like Niles instantly. The moment she was in his arms Niles’ heart melted.

Fran could see that he was touched. The phone rang and she went to pick it up. “Hello. Ma? What? I told you to not eat that cake. I’ll be right over.” She hung up. “Niles, Ma has got some sort of food poisoning so I have to go over there. But I promised to look after Erica.”

“You go.” Niles interrupted. “I’ll take care of her.”

“Thanks. Your a doll.” Fran hurried out.

“So now it’s just you and me. You are a very beautiful little girl. Just like your mother.” For a moment Niles wondered where her mother was. Probably talking to Mr. Sheffield. Little did he know that she was just walking through the kitchen door.

Part Four – We meet again

CC watched Niles with her daughter. She always knew that he had a good hand with children. He kept talking about how pretty she was and how the boys would run after her. He sounded like a proud father. As CC watched him she realized how much she had missed him. More then she thought possible.

For some reason Niles felt like he was being watched so he turned and there she was, smiling at him. CC. The moment he saw her he could feel his heart way up in his throat. She was just as beautiful as he remembered. Even more so. “Miss Babcock.”

“Hello Niles.” Smiling she thought how handsome he was. Always had been.

“It is, believe it or not, good to see you.”

CC laughed. “It is good to see you to. I see you have meet my daughter.”

“Yes. She is beautiful. Glad to see she doesn’t take after her mother.” Niles joked but instantly regretted it. This was not really a joking matter.

But CC laughed. That wonderful laugh of hers. “Oh, I have missed you, you old scare crow.”

Niles smiled. “I have missed you too.”

The second Erica saw her mother her face lit up and she started to wave her arms indicating she wanted to go to her mother. Niles handed her over to CC.

“So, Niles. What has my OLD friend been up to?”

“Not that old.” Niles looked at her. “Friend?”

“Well, yes. Come on, no matter what we said or did to each other I always considered us friends. Strange and twisted friends but friends none the less. Was I wrong?”

“No, no you weren’t. Anyway, I haven’t been up to much.” Niles couldn’t keep himself from looking at her. Blue jeans and a white tight jumper.

“Where is Nanny Fine?”

“She had to step out for a moment.”

“Oh, well…..I should go back to Maxwell….” CC really didn’t want to leave.

“I’ll take care of Erica for you.”

“Thank you.” CC handed Erica over to Niles again.

Niles watched her leave. Then looked at the little girl who’s blue eyes looked back at him. “Why can’t I just tell her?”

Part Five – Talking

Fran had been back for over an hour. She was talking with Maxwell when CC came in.

“Nanny Fine, could I talk to you for a minute?”

“Sure.”

Noticing the seriousness in her tone Maxwell got up and left. CC closed the door behind him.

Niles was in the kitchen feeding Erica.

“You are rather taken with her aren’t you?” Maxwell asked as he came in.

“Niles looked up. “Yes.”

“Not to mention how you feel about her mother.”

Niles didn’t say anything.

“I wonder if Erica’s father is still in the picture.”

“I hope not.” Niles blurted out. “I mean for Erica’s sake I hope so but……..”

“It’s alright, I know what you meant.” Maxwell smiled.

“So, That’s the story.” CC finished. “I am in love.”

Fran looked at her. “Oy.”

“Yeah, oy. Now what?”

“Talk to Niles. I promise it will make you feel better.”

Niles and Maxwell were playing with Erica. CC watched them through the door. How could she tell Niles? Why had she denied it for so long? Seeing him again just confirmed it.

Noticing CC in the doorway both men looked at her.

“Your wife want’s to see you, Maxwell.”

Maxwell had a feeling that CC wanted to talk to Niles alone. What ever it was about Fran would most likely tell him. “Ok.”

“Maxwell, could you take Erica with you and look after her for me?”

“Sure.” Maxwell took Erica from a surprised Niles.

After Maxwell left with Erica CC seated herself next to Niles. He watched her. She looked like a woman with the world on her shoulders.

“Niles, I need to tell you something.”

Part Six – Finally

He looked at her. He couldn’t wait any longer. He leaned over and kissed her.

CC was taken by surprise but didn’t resist. How could she? This is what she wanted.

Niles took one of his hands and ran it through her hair.

After a minute they both let go.

“Sorry, I just couldn’t help myself.” Niles explained.

“Don’t be sorry.” CC said with a low voice.

“I……….just wanted to show you……how I feel.”

“You feel that way about me?”

“I do. Even more so.”

Their faces were close and both talked just loud enough so the other one heard. CC brought her hand up to touch Niles’ cheek. “I feel that away about you to.”

“Really?” Somehow Niles had always known this.

“Yes. I thought about you every day since I left.”

“I thought about you too. Have I lost you?”

CC drew her head back in surprise but still spoke with a low voice. “Lost me? You never had me.”

“I know. But now that we have admitted how we fell. Well, almost. Maybe your taken.” Niles felt a little unsure.

“Taken?” CC asked.

“Yes. By Erica’s father.”

CC looked at him and smiled. “No, Erica’s father is not involved with me.”

Niles smiled back. “Good, because I want to be involved with you.”

“You sure?” CC felt rather giddy.

“I haven’t been this sure about anything in my life……until now.”

“You do realize that you will get a little girl in this package?”

“I don’t mind. But what about her father?”

“Her father never wanted any children. Not even after he saw her did he want anything to do with her. He sends me child support, that’s all. So for a long time I thought she would grow up without a father.”

“Will I do?”

CC had hoped for this. “You will do…….absolutely. Erica will love you. Just as much as I love you.”

“I can’t believe it. You just said the L-word.”

“I did. Feels damn good to.” CC wasn’t lying.

“Miss Babcock I love you to.” Niles smiled.

“No, Niles.” CC sighed.

“What?” Niles asked in surprise.

“No Miss Babcock. It’s CC.”

Niles smiled again. “Then how about, CC I love you.”

“Much better.” CC cooed.

“I would like to get to know you better.” Niles said with a smirk smile.

“First time should be special.” CC knew what he was thinking about. “But we have waited so long already.”

Again they started kissing each other.

“Erica?” CC asked in between kisses.

“Couldn’t be in better hands.” Niles responded also in between kisses.

“Hmmm. Your room?” CC moaned.

More heavy and deep kissing.

“My room.” Niles moaned back. He was getting hot, very hot.

They let go, looked at each other, got up from the chairs still looking at each other and did a completely turn around and ran up the back stairs.

The End

This entry was posted in 1998, Author "K", FanFiction, RUNHP and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment